Hometown Memories

The other day, my boyfriend brought up the idea of moving farther south.  We have both grown up in New England, and quite honestly, as much as I always wanted to move away, I never really thought I would.  Before I met him, and wasn’t sure what I wanted to do with my life, I was constantly looking for something else out there, start a new beginning, in a new place, a new job, making new friends… all of it.

I met Ross, and when we decided to look for a home to buy, we looked local.  Yeah, we tossed around the idea of moving south at the time, mostly because we made the mistake of looking up houses in North Carolina in our price range, and seeing we could buy much larger houses, with less repair.  At the end of the day though, we couldn’t leave New England.  It is our home.


One day, the home we bought popped up, we went to see it one Saturday morning, and we had it that Tuesday night.  It happened that fast.  We had looked at a handful of houses beforehand, feeling pretty discouraged that all of the local houses, were in disrepair, in bad neighborhoods, or just not in our price range.  Then this little ranch practically landed in our laps, when we least expected it.

One of the pieces of advice I kept getting while we were looking, was that the right house will find us.  And it absolutely did. Thinking about leaving it, especially since we’ve only been in it for 6 months, is crazy.  However, life changes in unexpected ways, and who knows where we’ll be in 10 years.


There is just something about staying local to your hometown though.  The world seems so magnificent and exciting, and you always feel like the grass is greener on the other side.  But where I live, the grass is green always.  Living in New England is almost like living in our own world inside of the US.  As much as I would be willing to find a new home, if the opportunity came around, I would still have a very difficult time leaving.  My family is here, my friends are here, my history is here. I love the seasons changing, I love fall weather and even enjoy the snow. I love that the ocean is only a little over an hour away. This area is just a part of me.


My little sister left January of this year.  She moved from our hometown in Massachusetts, to Seattle.  East coast to west coast.  An opportunity came up, and her and her boyfriend took it.  Sometimes you need to take that leap of faith, and experience life somewhere else.  Maybe some day my boyfriend and I will do the same.


There is still something about where you grow up, that no matter where you end up, its always there in the back of your mind. I still love traveling to Western Mass and watching my father talk about his childhood growing up out there.  Memories you cherish, that you share with loved ones, the good stories and the bad.  I can literally watch the memories flash in front of him, and can only hope I will be able to do the same as a get older.

No matter where I end up, 10 years, 20 years, 50 years from now, my home will always be central Mass, local to where I grew up.  Some day I might have children that I can share my stories with, driving down old town roads, past my middle school and high school, and all of the places we used to hang out.  Hometown memories to share, that have lasted a lifetime.

Local

Leave a Reply

