Something Bigger

My entire life, I was always doing something. I did dance and gymnastics at a young age, we were always outside hiking and adventuring.  When I got a little older, I joined a show choir, was a part of art shows, and went to every school dance on the weekends.  I spent almost every weekend with my friends when I was old enough to have sleep overs.  In high school, when I was old enough to work, I was working a summer job.  And when I turned 16, I was working a retail job.  I continued my art shows, was a part of school plays, and when I got my car, I was out every weekend.  All while getting As and Bs in my classes.  I was always a part of something.  I always needed the feeling of just being… needed.
I was nonstop, for the better part of my childhood. In college, the busy life just continued.  School, and parties, work and balancing everything, Monday through Sunday.


My sophomore year I joined Phi Sigma Sigma. Doing that rocked my world.  It took my busy life to a whole new level.  With our events, meetings, daily meet ups, community service events, social life on the weekends… it was nonstop. But one thing I grew to love, was just being a part of it all.  I was so busy, and sometimes it was so stressful, and I HAD to keep a 3.0 GPA or higher to keep my grants and scholarships… But at the end of the day, I had all of the support and the love that I needed to get through it.  I became a part of something much larger than my busy little 20 year old life.  I became a Big Sister, I became a bursar, I became a mentor, and I became someone that the younger girls could look up to.


My senior year of college I joined the scuba club at my university. I wanted to get scuba certified before graduating, and didn’t want to miss my chance after I moved back home because I wouldn’t even know where to start.  Getting certified, and literally learning how to breathe underwater, changed my views on everything.  The whole world became so much smaller to me, when I started to see what was possible under the surface.  I went to school for marine biology, and reading about it on paper just doesn’t do the real thing any justice.  Not only was I a human being able to breathe and walk on earth, I was a human being that could breathe and swim under water.  I became a part of something much larger than anyone could ever understand, unless you were doing it too.

After I graduated and moved back home, I picked up 3 part time jobs. Yes, three. I had no days off, worked every weekend, and woke up at 6am and worked until 10pm almost every single day from June of 2012 to January of 2014. Busy life continued on. I became a workaholic, literally.  I went in to work on my days off if they needed me, I went into work early and stayed late, and was always looking for new things to learn and do while at work. In January of 2014, and hung up my 3 jobs for my one corporate job at UPS, and even there, I took every chance I could to better myself.

img_5554
August 2015 was the next step I took for this sense of belonging that I had, that I didn’t really know I had until recently. I became a coach with Beachbody.  I had worked hard on my own journey to lose weight and be happy again a few months before, so by August, I knew I wanted to continue.  Honestly, I became a coach for the discount originally, but in September 2015, I officially shared my journey on social media.  I had a few people reach out to me asking how they could do it too, and ever since then, I’ve been sharing my journey every single day.  I found meaning in what I was doing for myself, and was able to help others, that didn’t even know where to start.  I became a part of another large community, by joining the team I was on, and we are all on the same mission – to better ourselves, while empowering others.  After leaving college, leaving my friends, leaving my sorority, and my friends and family at home were growing up and moving on, I had felt alone.  This coaching opportunity lit a fire inside of me, that no matter how big of a business that I grow, I never want to let go.


On vacation a few weeks back, we spent some time on the beach.  I love reading, and I love reading on the beach, so I picked up a book that was recommended by a coach on my team, “The Gifts of Imperfection” by Brene Brown.

I devoured it.

In like, 3 days.

I didn’t really know what to expect with it, but I had been really getting into reading personal development over the last year or so (in between my vampire  books and GoT novels of course), so anything that someone recommended, I just grabbed. This book however, basically stated, that we, as humans, are always looking for a sense of belonging, and she took time to address the differences of “fitting in” and belonging.  She addressed that people who try to fit in somewhere, tend to change who they are, because they feel that they need to.  Those people that really try to “fit in,” are actually searching for that sense of belonging, just not understanding that yet.  It really sparked something in me, and made me realize, that THAT is what I’ve been searching for all along.  A sense of belonging.  Grasping, reaching… just wanted to belong somewhere, with someone, with some people…. be a part of something larger than what was just around me in my day to day life.


I am 27 years young, and I have been consistently working to be a part of something my entire life.  Only just recently, I realized that it’s just built in, it’s just who I am, it’s just how most humans are.  I couldn’t be happier with the choices that I have made throughout my life, and so happy that I found my coaching job with Team Beachbody, because that’s exactly what I needed.  I plan to continue this journey in my life, through coaching, diving and traveling more, and continuing to stay busy and continuing to be a mentor to as many people that I can.

Leave a Reply

