I am not a writer. But here is why I started a blog.

IMG_0416I am not a writer. I never really have been, but I always enjoyed writing in journals when I found the time, and enjoyed creative writing in school.  I just never would consider myself a writer.  Starting a blog seems a little weird for me then huh? Writing a blog has always just been on my bucket list.  I wanted to at least give it a valiant effort for a year, and if I liked it, I could continue doing it.  Just like any new thing, you give it a shot for a while, and if it works, you keep going, and if it doesn’t, you just say goodbye.

I have a ton of half written in journals everywhere.  Some are cheap journals, some are fairly expensive ones that I thought looked cool and thought if I spent a little money on it, I would use it more.  Yes, it worked for a little while, but never stuck.  I’m not really sure why.  Maybe I always found something else to do, maybe it was little too much work than I signed up for, maybe I was just being lazy.  This time will be a little different.  I refuse to give up on this.

I don’t want this to be just a blog of what I’m thinking all the time, I want it to be a mixture of a lot of different things.  My life, my travels, my fitness journey, my emotions, my recipes, my DIY projects… anything and everything I think might inspire someone.  Even inspiring one person will make this whole thing worthwhile.  By no means, do I think I’m some extraordinary person that everyone needs to know, but I think over the past couple years, I went through some life altering moments that helped shape my mind and soul into a more stable and inspirational person.

I had a moment where I didn’t want to be sad anymore, be angry anymore, be bitter anymore.  The year I turned 25 started out so rough, and after I woke up one day and said enough is enough, my life literally changed before my eyes.  It wasn’t easy, and every once in a while I still relapsed into my old unhappy self, but I fought for it.  I fought for my happiness.  I fought for this life. Almost two years later, I’ve lost close to 25 pounds, I met the man I plan to marry, I own a house with him, I picked up scuba diving again along with kayaking, I get outside more than I ever have, and I have plans to see the world.  If you asked me when I was 25 if I ever pictured myself here, I would have thought you were crazy for even asking.  My life turned completely upside-down, for the better, in less than two years.

I’m not a therapist.  I’m not here trying to fix any problems, I’m just here to tell you that it’s possible for you to change anything you want in your life.  I’m hoping this blog can be a platform where I can share some experiences and substantial moments in my life, that helped me get where I am now.  I can’t promise to have the best blog posts, but I can promise that they will be real, they will be honest, and that I will try my hardest to keep up with it.

Let’s see what this year will bring.

Leave a Reply

